April 10, 2014

(Albany, Georgia) – Under the leadership of Southwest Regional Director Karen Kemp, South Georgia conservatives gathered on Tuesday at the Camilla Depot to establish a local Republican Party in Mitchell County.

“With months until the 2014 General Election, it’s exciting to organize another county party in southwest Georgia,” said GAGOP SW Regional Director Karen Kemp.  ”The State Party is committed to fostering an active and vibrant Party structure in each county and will provide the resources and guidance needed to ensure success and enable growth in Mitchell County.”

The Mitchell County GOP will now go through a multi-step process to become an officially recognized organization of the Georgia Republican Party.

“The reorganization of another county party is a testament to the hard work that our District Chairmen, and surrounding County Chairs are doing to energize the base and advance the conservative cause,” said Georgia Republican Party Chairman John Padgett.  “The Georgia Republican Party is serious about investing in southwest Georgia and the organization of Mitchell County is another step towards building a southern stronghold that can withstand the test of time.”

The sizeable crowd was enthusiastic about the reorganization of the county party and elected Steve Shiver as Chairman, Harold Jackson, Jr. as Vice-Chairman, and David Sullivan as Secretary and Treasurer.

Also in attendance were State Representative Jay Powell, former State Representative Richard Royal, president of JLA Farms and former State Chairman of the USDA Farm Service Agency James Lee Adams, Georgia Republican Party SW Regional Director Karen Kemp and the GAGOP’s Director of Party Development, Joe Dendy.

Last year, the Georgia Republican Party opened their first regional headquarters in Albany and now has satellite offices in Augusta and Statesboro. These GAGOP Regional Headquarters are staffed by Regional Directors, who spearhead Voter Registration efforts, grassroots initiatives, and community-based projects.

Under Chairman Padgett’s leadership, the Georgia Republican Party has organized local parties in Dougherty, Jeff Davis, Candler, Screven, Brantley, Wilcox, and Tattnall Counties.

Paid for by the Georgia Republican Party, Inc.
Not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s committee
P.O. Box 550008 – Atlanta, Georgia 30355
404.257.5559 WWW.GAGOP.ORG 404.257.0779 fax
John Watson, Chairman • Mansell McCord, Treasurer