The Chairman’s Message – August 13, 2013

August 30, 2013

Fellow Republicans,

After working for thirty-five years in the grassroots of the GAGOP, I know firsthand the importance of vibrant, growing county parties.

As the Athens-Clarke County Bush/Cheney Campaign Co-Chair in 2000 and 2004, our county had the largest Republican turnout in over 130 years. While I would like to take the credit for such a monumental feat, our local county party turned a seemingly impossible goal into an undeniable reality.

You see, the GAGOP is nothing more than a name without organized county parties working daily to register voters, grow the base, and engage local like-minded Republicans.

The importance of our county parties cannot be understated and that is why I tasked our District Chairmen earlier this year with facilitating the organization (or re-organization) of every county party in their district.

After just three short months, I am proud to report that our District Chairs are hard at work and organization efforts are underway! Under the leadership of Lawton Sack, two county parties (Screven and Jeff Davis) are now re-organized in Georgia’s 12th District, with two more (Candler and Tattnall) on the way.

I am confident that leading up to next year’s General Election, additional county parties will follow suit and the full impact of their efforts will be seen at the ballot box.

If you are interested in helping in the reorganization efforts of a neighboring county, please contact your District Chair or GAGOP Political Director Brad Hughes, 404.257.5559 (ex. 234), [email protected]

As always, I appreciate your dedication to the Georgia Republican Party and look forward to working together soon to advance conservative principles here in Georgia and beyond!


John Padgett
Chairman of the Georgia Republican Party

Paid for by the Georgia Republican Party, Inc.
Not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s committee
P.O. Box 550008 – Atlanta, Georgia 30355
404.257.5559 WWW.GAGOP.ORG 404.257.0779 fax
John Watson, Chairman • Mansell McCord, Treasurer